Kitcast vs TelemetryTV (2026): Best TelemetryTV Alternatives Compared
Updated August 2026 · Prices checked on telemetrytv.com and kitcast.tv/pricing
Table of Contents
- TL;DR — Quick Verdict
- Comparison Highlights
- Where Kitcast Beats TelemetryTV
- Where TelemetryTV Beats Kitcast
- Side-by-Side Comparison Table
- Deep Dive: Feature-by-Feature
- Pricing Breakdown (2026)
- Other TelemetryTV Alternatives
- Real-World Scenarios
- Setup & Onboarding
- Migration from TelemetryTV
- Checklist: How to Choose
- Red Flags to Watch
- FAQ
- Final Recommendation
⚡ TL;DR — Quick Verdict
The best TelemetryTV alternative in 2026 is Kitcast. It starts at $7 per screen per month (annual billing) versus TelemetryTV's $8 Entry plan, runs a native Apple TV app that TelemetryTV does not offer at all, and includes SSO, SCIM, Open API, audit logs and MDM in its Pro plan at $10 per screen with no device minimum — controls TelemetryTV reserves for its $35-per-device Enterprise plan, which requires a minimum of 100 devices.
Other TelemetryTV alternatives worth shortlisting: Yodeck (lowest entry price, free single screen), OptiSigns (three free screens, broadest hardware list), ScreenCloud (enterprise app ecosystem), Rise Vision (schools, unlimited-display licence) and NoviSign (interactive kiosks). All six are compared below.
When TelemetryTV is still the right call: you run a very large device network on its 500-licence Network tier, you broadcast live video, IPTV or real-time dashboards to screens, you build custom experiences with its HTML SDK and data firehose, or your procurement requires SOC 2 and PCI-DSS paperwork. Yes, Kitcast is our product — which is why every claim on this page is tied to a price or feature you can verify on both vendors' sites.
Comparison Highlights
- Cost of SSO:Kitcast includes SSO (SAML) and SCIM in Pro at $10/screen/mo with no minimum. TelemetryTV reserves SAML and SCIM for Enterprise at $35/device/mo with a 100-device minimum (its $9 Network tier requires 500).
- Small fleets:Kitcast offers SSO, SCIM, audit logs and roles at any fleet size. On TelemetryTV, SSO and SCIM are unavailable below the 100-device Enterprise minimum — its self-serve plans (Entry $8, Core $13, Elite $16) do not include them at any size.
- Apple TV:Kitcast has shipped a native tvOS app since 2015. TelemetryTV's published device list covers its own Box OS, Android, Fire OS, Chrome OS, Windows, Linux, Raspberry Pi, Intel PCs, BrightSign, LG webOS, macOS, iOS and a web app — no Apple TV.
- Entry price:Kitcast Starter is $7/screen/mo on annual billing. TelemetryTV Entry is $8/device/mo on annual billing, with monthly billing available on Entry and Core.
- Big networks:TelemetryTV is purpose-built for very large deployments — its Network plan is $9/device at a 500-device minimum, with volume discounts above that — and brings Zoom & live video, IPTV streaming, dashboards and a Kinesis data firehose. Kitcast targets ease of use and governance without minimums.
- Compliance:TelemetryTV is SOC 2 and PCI-DSS compliant and rates 4.9★ on Capterra (168 reviews). Kitcast states GDPR compliance and encryption in transit and at rest, and rates 4.7★ (46 reviews).
Where Kitcast Beats TelemetryTV — and Where TelemetryTV Beats Kitcast
Both platforms are cloud-managed and priced per screen, and both offer a free trial so you can test before committing. This guide lays out where each platform wins, using only figures published on each company's site, so you can decide with confidence. One naming note: TelemetryTV is currently rebranding its platform as TelemetryOS — its sign-up and demo now run on telemetryos.com.
✅ Where Kitcast beats TelemetryTV
- Apple hardware: native apps for Apple TV, macOS and iOS, plus Android TV, Fire TV, BrightSign, Samsung Tizen, LG webOS and ChromeOS. Apple TV is not on TelemetryTV's device list.
- Governance at any fleet size: SSO (SAML), SCIM, audit logs and role-based access are included in Pro at $10/screen with no device minimum.
- SSO below 100 screens: a team with fewer than 100 screens cannot buy single sign-on on TelemetryTV's self-serve plans — on Kitcast it is available at one screen or ten thousand.
- Entry price: $7/screen/mo versus TelemetryTV's $8/device/mo on annual billing.
- Unlimited users on every plan. TelemetryTV caps user licenses by tier: 5 on Entry, 100 on Core, 1,000 on Elite.
- Schools and brand-conscious offices: existing Apple TVs become managed signage, with zero-touch rollout through Jamf, Mosyle and Kandji.
- Measured reliability: 99.31% median 12-month uptime on Apple TV in Kitcast's State of Digital Signage 2026 telemetry (1,000 devices).
- A clean dashboard non-technical staff learn quickly, AI content generation in the $7 Starter plan, and hands-on human support at every tier.
🔵 Where TelemetryTV beats Kitcast
- Very large device networks: its Network plan is $9/device for deployments of 500+ devices, with volume discounts and a customer advisory council.
- Zoom & live video: broadcast live video and Zoom to screens on its Enterprise plan, plus IPTV streaming on the top tiers.
- Real-time dashboards: Grafana, Power BI and Tableau on screen through Web Screenshots from Core ($13), plus an AWS Kinesis data firehose on top tiers.
- Developer tooling: an HTML/JS/CSS webapp SDK, a programmatic API from Core, and RS-232 and HDMI-CEC serial control from Elite.
- Compliance paperwork: SOC 2 and PCI-DSS compliance, with the SOC 2 report available on its top tiers.
- 8K video walls: documented support up to 8K, from dual displays to 10+ screen configurations.
- Own signage hardware: purpose-built Box OS and Droid-1 players, plus Windows, Linux, Raspberry Pi and Intel PC support today — all roadmap items at Kitcast.
- Review volume: 4.9 stars from 168 Capterra reviews vs Kitcast's 4.7 from 46, and a 30-day trial with Elite capabilities vs Kitcast's 14 days.
Side-by-Side Comparison Table
Kitcast prices per screen; TelemetryTV prices per device. Prices are per month on annual billing unless stated. Tier names are each vendor's own, as published in August 2026.
| Criteria | TelemetryTV | |
|---|---|---|
| Entry price (annual billing) | $7/screen/mo (Starter) | $8/device/mo (Entry) |
| Governance plan price | $10/screen/mo (Pro) | $35/device/mo (Enterprise) |
| Device minimum for SSO / SCIM | None | 100 devices (Enterprise); the $9 Network tier requires 500 |
| Free trial | 14 days, no credit card | 30 days, with Elite capabilities |
| Hardware model | Bring your own devices | BYOD, plus its own Box OS and Droid-1 players |
| Supported platforms | Apple TV, Android TV, Fire TV, BrightSign, Samsung Tizen, LG webOS, ChromeOS, macOS, iOS, web player | TelemetryTV Box OS, Android, Fire OS, Chrome OS, Windows, Linux, Raspberry Pi, Intel PCs, BrightSign, LG webOS, macOS, iOS, PWA |
| Native Apple TV app | Yes — native tvOS app since 2015 | Not listed |
| Windows / Linux / Raspberry Pi | On the roadmap | Supported today |
| Video walls | Synchronized playback (Pro); tiled walls not a core use case | Up to 8K, dual displays to 10+ screen configurations |
| Live video / IPTV | Web pages & live streaming — Pro ($10) | Zoom & live video — Enterprise ($35); IPTV on top tiers |
| Dashboards on screen | Power BI, Tableau — Pro ($10) | Grafana, Power BI, Tableau via Web Screenshots — Core ($13) |
| Canva integration | All plans | Built-in Canva editor — Entry ($8) |
| AI content generation | Starter ($7) — backgrounds, text, layouts from a prompt | Not listed — its plans list 24/7 AI chat support instead |
| Turnkey apps & widgets | Weather, calendars, news, social, dashboards, web pages | 70+ turnkey apps |
| Offline playback | Full local caching; plays indefinitely | Local caching; plays through connection loss |
| Users included | Unlimited on all plans | 5 (Entry), 100 (Core), 1,000 (Elite) |
| MDM / device provisioning | Apple MDM (Jamf, Mosyle, Kandji) — Pro ($10) | Automatic Device Provisioning — Core ($13) |
| SSO (SAML) | Pro ($10), no minimum | Enterprise ($35, min 100 devices) |
| SCIM provisioning | Pro ($10) | Enterprise ($35, min 100 devices) |
| API | REST API — Pro ($10) | Programmatic API — Core ($13); Data Export API — Enterprise ($35) |
| Activity / audit logs | Pro ($10) | User Activity Logs — Core ($13) |
| Roles / permissions | Roles & approvals — Pro ($10) | Group Permissions — Core ($13) |
| Proof of play | Pro ($10) | Elite ($16, min 10 devices); exportable reports — Network ($9, min 500) |
| RS-232 serial control | Not stated | Elite ($16) — RS-232 & HDMI-CEC |
| Compliance | GDPR; encryption in transit and at rest | SOC 2, PCI-DSS |
| Third-party reviews (Capterra) | 4.7 ★ (46 reviews) | 4.9 ★ (168 reviews) |
| Notable customers | Apple, Disney, Tesla, Walmart, Nike, Hilton, Stanford, T-Mobile | Starbucks, Amazon, BCG, Stanford School of Medicine, Vancity, Kenco Logistics |
| EDU / non-profit discounts | Yes — education, non-profit, first responders, government | Not stated |
| Setup time | ~5 min (download → pair → publish) | Install app or deploy Box OS → pair → publish |
| Support | 24/7 email, phone and chat on every plan | 24/7 AI chat (Entry); expert chat & phone from Elite; dedicated CSM on top tiers |
Deep Dive: Feature-by-Feature
Ease of Use & Interface
Kitcast is designed so a marketing manager, office admin, or teacher can get content on a screen in minutes without training. You pair a device, drop media into a playlist, and publish. The whole product is oriented around speed to first screen.
TelemetryTV is a deep, capable platform aimed at larger and more technical deployments, with a broad feature surface spanning live video, dashboards, custom apps, and hardware control. That depth is powerful for teams that need it, but a wider feature set generally asks more of the people configuring it than a minimal, publish-first tool does.
Verdict: Kitcast prioritizes fast, simple publishing for everyday teams. TelemetryTV offers more depth for technical and enterprise use cases.
Supported Devices & Platforms
Kitcast builds native apps for Apple TV, Android TV, Amazon Fire TV, BrightSign, Samsung Tizen, LG webOS, ChromeOS, macOS, and iOS, with Windows, Linux, and Raspberry Pi on its roadmap. TelemetryTV's documentation lists support for TelemetryTV Box OS, Android, Fire OS, Chrome OS, Windows, Linux, Raspberry Pi, Intel-compatible PCs, BrightSign, LG webOS, macOS, iOS, and a Progressive Web App, and it sells its own Box OS and Droid-1 hardware players.
The decisive difference for many buyers: TelemetryTV's player list does not include Apple TV (tvOS). TelemetryTV can run on Mac or iPad hardware via its app, but it has no Apple TV set-top player — so organizations that already run Apple TVs, common in schools, universities, and creative teams, cannot use those devices with TelemetryTV. Going the other way, TelemetryTV supports Windows, Linux, Raspberry Pi, and Intel PCs today, which Kitcast lists as roadmap items. In Kitcast's State of Digital Signage 2026 telemetry (1,000 devices), Apple TV screens held 99.31% median uptime over 12 months versus 96.63% for low-cost Android players — a reliability argument for the hardware class Kitcast is built around.
Verdict: Choose Kitcast if you use Apple TV. Choose TelemetryTV if you standardize on Windows, Linux, Raspberry Pi, or its own hardware. Decide on the devices you actually run.