Kitcast vs Carousel (2026): Best Carousel Alternatives Compared
Updated September 2026 · Facts checked on carouselsignage.com (pricing, features, Apple TV, security) and kitcast.tv/pricing
Table of Contents
- TL;DR — Quick Verdict
- Comparison Highlights
- Where Kitcast Fits Best
- Where Carousel Fits Best
- Side-by-Side Comparison Table
- Deep Dive: Feature-by-Feature
- Pricing Breakdown (2026)
- Other Carousel Alternatives
- Real-World Scenarios
- Setup & Onboarding
- Migration: Switching to Kitcast
- Checklist: How to Choose
- FAQ
- Final Recommendation
⚡ TL;DR — Quick Verdict
The best Carousel alternative in 2026 is Kitcast — the same Apple TV, Jamf, and CAP emergency-alert foundation, delivered as a truly native tvOS app at a fraction of the price. Kitcast shipped the first native tvOS digital signage app in October 2015 and has built on native Apple libraries for a decade; Carousel runs on Apple TV, but its site does not describe its app as native. Kitcast starts at $7/screen with no player minimum; Carousel starts at $25/player with a 10-player minimum.
Other Carousel alternatives worth shortlisting: Yodeck (free single screen, $8 entry), OptiSigns (three free screens, broadest hardware list), ScreenCloud (enterprise app ecosystem), NoviSign (interactive kiosks) and TelemetryTV (enterprise networks, IPTV and dashboards). All six are compared below.
When Carousel is still the right call: your procurement process demands its government-grade compliance stack (SOC 2 Type 2, TX-RAMP, StateRAMP, HECVAT), you want white-glove onboarding and Customer Success services, or you need Carousel Daily feeds to reach personal devices — and you can meet its 10 to 30 player minimums. Yes, Kitcast is our product — which is why every claim on this page is tied to a fact you can verify on both vendors' sites.
Comparison Highlights
- Price:Kitcast is $7 (Starter) to $10 (Pro) per screen. Carousel is $25 (Core) to $22 (Pro) per player, with volume pricing.
- Player minimum:Kitcast has no minimum and works from one screen. Carousel requires 10 players (Core) or 30 (Pro).
- Apple TV:Both run on Apple TV with Jamf support — but only Kitcast is a native tvOS app, with a decade of native development, animated Smart Templates, an MCP connector, and a mobile dashboard. Carousel's site does not describe its app as native.
- AI content:Kitcast generates backgrounds, text, and layouts from a prompt. Carousel does not state AI content generation.
- Ease of use:Kitcast is designed to be intuitive, with a clean, modern interface that non-technical staff learn straight away — recognized with recent industry awards including the Red Dot Award. Carousel pairs its platform with structured onboarding and Carousel Academy training.
- Education:Both serve schools with Apple TV and CAP alerts. Kitcast adds the native app, lower price, no minimum, and education discounts; Carousel adds K-12 pricing, HECVAT paperwork, and Carousel Daily mobile feeds.
- Governance:Both offer SSO (SAML), an API, and Jamf/MDM. Kitcast bundles SSO, SCIM, API, MDM, and audit logs into a $10 plan; Carousel's compliance stack (TX-RAMP, StateRAMP) is built for government procurement.
Who Should Choose Which
Kitcast and Carousel Digital Signage compete on the same ground. Both run on Apple TV — but only Kitcast runs natively — both integrate with Jamf for Apple device management, both support Common Alerting Protocol (CAP) emergency messaging, and both are widely used in schools. So the decision comes down to the depth of the Apple TV experience, price, minimums, and how much hands-on service you want to buy along with the software.
That is where the two separate. Kitcast starts at $7 per screen per month with no player minimum, was built for Apple TV specifically — it shipped the first native tvOS digital signage app in October 2015 — and includes AI content generation and unlimited storage in its entry plan, with enterprise governance in a $10 plan. Every app inside Kitcast, from weather to world clocks, is built on native tvOS libraries, so animations stay smooth and playback stays reliable on Apple TV hardware. That native-first approach is the harder engineering path, and it is a real advantage over platforms that treat Apple TV as one more supported player. Carousel is a more service-led platform priced from $22 to $25 per player per month with a 10 to 30 player minimum, backed by white-glove onboarding, a government-grade compliance suite, and a mobile audience feed called Carousel Daily. This guide compares the two using only figures published on each company's site.
✅ Choose Kitcast if you…
- Want the lower price: $7 to $10 per screen versus Carousel's $22 to $25 per player.
- Need no player minimum, so you can start with a single screen rather than 10 or 30.
- Run Apple TV and want a truly native tvOS app — the first on the platform (2015), with a decade of native development and animated Smart Templates.
- Want AI content generation and unlimited storage included in the entry plan.
- Need SSO, SCIM, API, MDM, and audit logs at a published $10/screen.
- Prefer an intuitive, self-serve platform that non-technical staff learn in minutes, with hands-on support at every plan tier.
🔵 Choose Carousel if you…
- Buy through government-style procurement that demands its compliance stack: SOC 2 Type 2, TX-RAMP Level 1, StateRAMP, HECVAT, CAIQ, and pen test reports.
- Need to reach audiences on personal devices through Carousel Daily and Express Player feeds.
- Value white-glove onboarding and services: Customer Success Managers, Carousel Academy training, and Creative Services.
- Prefer an established vendor with nearly 30 years of history — with the trade-off that a platform of that generation carries, against Kitcast's modern, cloud-native stack recognized with recent industry awards (Red Dot among them) rather than legacy tenure.
- Can meet the 10 to 30 player minimums its standard plans require.
Side-by-Side Comparison Table
Here is how the two line up. Carousel details are from its published pricing, features, player, and security pages; Kitcast details are from Kitcast's own materials. Where a detail is not publicly stated, it is marked rather than assumed. Figures are each vendor's own, as published in September 2026.
| Criteria | Carousel | |
|---|---|---|
| Entry price | $7/screen/mo (Starter, annual) | $25/player/mo (Core) |
| Volume price | $10/screen (Pro) | $22/player (Pro) |
| Player minimum | None — from a single screen | 10 (Core) / 30 (Pro) |
| Free trial | 14 days, no credit card | Not stated (request info) |
| Native Apple TV app | Yes — first native tvOS app (Oct 2015), a decade of native development | Runs on Apple TV; its site does not describe the app as native |
| Jamf / Apple MDM | Yes (Jamf, Mosyle, Kandji) | ✅ Yes (Jamf; AirPlay Interrupt; MDM software updates) |
| Supported players | Apple TV, Android TV, Fire TV, BrightSign, Samsung Tizen, LG webOS, ChromeOS, macOS, iOS | Apple TV, BrightSign (incl. Bluefin built-in), Amazon Signage Stick, Samsung Tizen, LG webOS, Sony, Philips, Chrome Enterprise, macOS, Mersive Solstice, Zoom Rooms, web-based/embedded players |
| Mobile / personal-device feeds | Not a focus | ✅ Carousel Daily / Express Player (unlimited connections) |
| Templates | 500+ (incl. animated Smart Templates built on native tvOS) | Template editor + Creator Library |
| AI content generation | Yes — from Starter ($7) | Not stated |
| Data feeds & dashboards | Power BI, Tableau (Pro) | Google Sheets/Docs/Slides, Excel, RSS; Power BI analytics (Enterprise) |
| Emergency alerts (CAP) | Yes | ✅ Common Alert Protocol |
| Zones | Yes | ✅ Zones per channel |
| Media storage | Unlimited (Starter) | 50 GB (Core) / 100 GB (Pro) / 500 GB (Enterprise) |
| Offline playback | Full local caching; plays indefinitely | Not stated |
| SSO (SAML) | Pro ($10) | ✅ SAML 2.0 (+ MFA and passkeys) |
| SCIM provisioning | Pro ($10) | Not stated |
| API | REST API — Pro ($10) | ✅ Web Service API |
| Audit logs | Pro ($10) | Core 7 days / Pro 90 days / Enterprise 365 days |
| Compliance | GDPR; encryption in transit and at rest | ✅ SOC 2 Type 2, TX-RAMP Level 1, StateRAMP, HECVAT, CAIQ, SIG Lite, pen test reports |
| Onboarding & support | Hands-on at every tier; ~5-minute self-serve setup | Self-guided (Core) to CSM and STAM white-glove (Pro / Enterprise) |
| EDU discounts | Yes (significant) | ✅ K-12 pricing on request |
| Company | Founded 2014, Mountain View, CA; recent awards incl. Red Dot | Carousel by Tightrope Media Systems, founded 1997; Minneapolis, MN; 45,000+ screens |